About KEA


Become a Friend




Meet the board of directors.


Meet the people who make KEA possible.


As a non-profit, KEA is required to make its annual financial statements public.

Our Story

Kootenai Environmental Alliance is the oldest non-profit conservation group in Idaho and one of the oldest in the Northwest. 

We were founded in 1972 by former Idaho State Senators Art Manley and Mary Lou Reed, well-known environmental attorney Scott Reed, and representatives from several local and regional sporting organizations. 

The organization started in response to the extensive environmental damage in the Idaho Panhandle caused by timber and mining interests, land developers, and policies of land managers of the federal government.

We have always held that an informed public is essential to safeguarding our environment. To that end, KEA held public meetings almost every week for 30 years to provide the public an opportunity to hear experts, political candidates, and local officials address local, regional, and national environmental issues. 

Continuing the tradition, we now hold “KEA Happy Hour” meetings at our office at 206 Indiana Ave suite 112 the 1st Thursday of each month at 4 PM, running September through June.

    Follow Us on Social Media

    Follow Us on Social Media

    Want to know more? Let us know how we can get in touch.